Controversial Tinder tool reveals which friends use dating app

28/04/2016

Tinder is testing a new feature called 'Tinder Social' that reveals which of a user's Facebook contacts are using it.

tinder%20social.jpg

The feature displays a list of Facebook friends who use Tinder, and even shows their profiles.

That means the users can see their full description, and the photographs they have chosen to display to potential dates.

The feature is currently being trialled with a limited number of users in Australia.

Tinder Social requires the user to gather a group of their Tinder-using friends, and swipe through other groups of Tinder-using friends, until they find a match.

The new feature has come under fire as a an invasion of privacy. The feature is opt-out rather than opt-in, meaning it is automatically activated.

This could be a problem for people who want to keep their online dating activities hidden from friends and family on Facebook.

In a blog post Tinder told users how to hide themselves from the people they know.
It read: "Any user who would prefer not to be added to groups can opt out of Tinder Social through his/her settings to no longer appear on their friends' lists.

"We are only testing it at this point, but it's important to note Tinder's not a secret considering 70% of users download Tinder because their friends recommend it."

Read more here

<< Back to today’s Digital Intelligence news

Copyright ©2000-2019 Digital Strategy Consulting Limited | All rights reserved | This material is for your personal use only | Using this site constitutes acceptance of our user agreement and privacy policy