Gmail iPhone app lets users unsend embarrassing emails

14/11/2016

Gmail has added a new feature that lets iPhone users unsend emails they may have sent in error.

Gmail_on_iOS_Undo-Send_0.gif

The new feature comes as part of a major redesign of the Gmail iPhone app to bring it in line with the version for Android, as well as adding a few new features.

Google added the undo send feature to its email service for the web last year as well as for Android, but it has long been one of the most-needed features on the iOS version.

When users send an email, a black bar will appear at the bottom of the screen giving the user the chance to undo it for five seconds.

During this time, the app is essentially holding the email in quarantine until the five seconds expires, at which point it will actually be sent.

If you undo, you’ll be taken back to the email compose screen at which point you can make any necessary tweaks to the email. The feature works whether or not you have “undo send” activated on the web version of Gmail.

Gmail has also improved the search function, making it quicker and adding search suggestions. You can also swipe right or left on emails to archive them.

Matthew Izatt, product manager at Gmail, said the changes represent “the biggest overhaul of the app in nearly four years”.

He added: “It’s the Gmail you know and love, with a fresh new look, sleeker transitions and some highly-requested features. It’s a lot faster, too.

“With the new app, getting things done on the go is a lot easier — whether you’re trying to find a message your colleague sent you last month, or trying to get through your work inbox on a Monday morning.”

Undo send has been a feature in other email apps such as Spark and Google's own Inbox for some time.

<< Back to today’s Digital Intelligence news

Copyright ©2000-2019 Digital Strategy Consulting Limited | All rights reserved | This material is for your personal use only | Using this site constitutes acceptance of our user agreement and privacy policy