The new policy reads: “If you want to stop using your account you may deactivate it or delete it. When you deactivate an account, no user will be able to see it, but it will not be deleted. We save your profile information (friends, photos, interests, etc.) in case you later decide to reactivate your account.”
“When you delete an account,” continues the policy, “it is permanently deleted. You should only delete your account if you are certain you never want to reactivate it.”
Richter says members welcomed Facebook’s replacement of complex terms with simple language, as well as a new layout that emphasises key points. “The goals of the revised policy were to make it more accessible and easier to understand,” says Richter.